My Favorite Lines from My Favorite Hymns

I grew up on hymns and can’t get enough of their rich theology.  Sometimes a phrase is so finely crafted that its meaning and emotional effect has stayed with me for years.  Here are some of my favorite verses:

“How Great Thou Art”
When Christ shall come with shout of acclamation
And take me home, what joy shall fill my heart!
Then I shall bow in humble adoration,
And there proclaim: my God, how great Thou art!

“O Worship the King”
Frail children of dust, and feeble as frail,
In Thee do we trust, nor find Thee to fail.
Thy mercies how tender, how firm to the end;
Our Maker, Defender, Redeemer, and Friend!

“This Is My Father’s World”
This is my Father’s world, O let me ne’er forget
That though the wrong seems oft so strong,
God is the Ruler yet.
This is my Father’s world, the battle is not done;
Jesus who died shall be satisfied,
And earth and heav’n be one.

“Holy, Holy Holy”
Holy, holy, holy!  Though the darkness hide Thee,
Though the eye of sinful man Thy glory may not see;
Only Thou art holy; there is none beside Thee,
Perfect in power, in love and purity.

“Be Thou My Vision”
Riches I heed not, or man’s empty praise,
Thou mine inheritance, now and always;
Thou and Thou only, first in my heart,
High King of heaven, my treasure Thou art.

“Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing”
Here I raise my Ebenezer; hither by Thy help I’m come;
And I hope, by Thy good pleasure, safely to arrive at home.
Jesus sought me when a stranger, wand’ring from the fold of God;
He, to rescue me from danger, interposed His precious blood.

“The Love of God”
Could we with ink the ocean fill and were the skies of parchment made,
Were ev’ry stalk on earth a quill and ev’ry man a scribe by trade,
To write the love of God above would drain the ocean dry;
Nor could the scroll contain the whole, tho’ stretched from sky to sky.

“There Is a Fountain”
The dying thief rejoiced to see that fountain in his day;
And there may I, though vile as he, wash all my sins away.
Wash all my sins away, wash all my sins away;
And there may I, though vile as he, wash all my sins away.

“I Stand Amazed in the Presence”
When with the ransomed in glory
His face I at last shall see,
‘Twill be my joy through the ages
To sing of His love for me.

“Hallelujah, What a Savior!”
Bearing shame and scoffing rude,
In my place condemned He stood,
Sealed my pardon with His blood;
Hallelujah, what a Savior!

“Jesus Paid It All”
And when, before the throne,
I stand in Him complete,
“Jesus died my soul to save,”
My lips shall still repeat.

“And Can It Be”
Long my imprisoned spirit lay
Fastbound in sin and nature’s night;
Thine eye diffused a quick’ning ray,
I woke, the dungeon flamed with light.
My chains fell off, my heart was free;
I rose, went forth and followed Thee.

“It Is Well”
My sin–oh, the bliss of this glorious thought:
My sin–not in part, but the whole
Is nailed to the cross and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

“Before the Throne of God Above”
When Satan tempts me to despair and tells me of the guilt within,
Upward I look and see Him there who made an end to all my sin.
Because the sinless Savior died my sinful soul is counted free;
For God the just is satisfied to look on Him and pardon me.

“How Firm a Foundation”
Fear not!  I am with thee; O be not dismayed,
For I am thy God, and will still give thee aid;
I’ll strengthen thee, help thee, and cause thee to stand,
Upheld by My righteous, omnipotent hand.

“Rock of Ages, Cleft for Me”
Not the labors of my hands
Can fulfill Thy law’s demands;
These for sin could not atone;
Thou must save, and Thou alone.
In my hand no price I bring,
Simply to Thy cross I cling.

“The Solid Rock”
When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found;
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne.

Do you have some favorite hymn lines?  Share them in the comments!  

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Lines from My Favorite Hymns

  1. You can’t go wrong with words from hymns– these are classics– I particularly like “It Is Well With My Soul.” Growing up Catholic, I never heard that til I went to a Protestant church. Of course all Christians know and love and share “How Great Thou Art” and “Amazing Grace.”

  2. There are so many hymns that have spoken to my heart. The Lord seems to bring them to mind at various times. The lyrics seem to touch whatever I am going through at the time – joy, peace, sorrow, pain, etc. I cannot begin to share all of the lyrics, but here are some of my favorites:

    “NO ONE EVER CARED FOR ME LIKE JESUS” (My testimony in song)
    I would love to tell you what I think of Jesus,
    Since I found in Him a friend so strong and true;
    I would tell you how He changed my life completely,
    He did something that no other friend could do.

    Chorus
    No one ever cared for me like Jesus,
    There’s no other friend so kind as He;
    No one else could take the sin and darkness from me,
    O how much He cared for me.

    Ev’ry day He comes to me with new assurance,
    More and more I understand His words of love;
    But I’ll never know just why He came to save me,
    Till some day I see His blessed face above.

    “GREAT IS THY FAITHFULNESS”
    Great is thy faithfulness, O God, my Father
    There is no shadow of turning with Thee
    Thou changest not; Thy compassions they fail not
    As thou hast been, Thou forever will be

    Chorus
    Great is Thy faithfulness
    Great is Thy faithfulness
    Morning by morning new mercies I see
    All I have needed Thy hand hath provided
    Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me

    Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth
    Thy own dear presence to cheer and to guide
    Your strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow
    Blessings ALL MINE with ten thousand beside!

    “LOVE DIVINE, ALL LOVES EXCELLING”
    (*Note the last line)
    Finish, then, Thy new creation;
    Pure and spotless let us be.
    Let us see Thy great salvation
    Perfectly restored in Thee;
    Changed from glory into glory,
    Till in heaven we take our place,
    Till we cast our crowns before Thee,
    * Lost in wonder, love, and praise.

    “BENEATH THE CROSS OF JESUS”
    Upon that cross of Jesus mine eye at times can see
    The very dying form of One Who suffered there for me;
    And from my stricken heart with tears two wonders I confess;
    The wonders of redeeming love and my unworthiness.

    I take, O cross, thy shadow for my abiding place;
    I ask no other sunshine than the sunshine of His face;
    Content to let the world go by to know no gain or loss,
    My sinful self my only shame, my glory all the cross.

    “NEAR THE CROSS”
    Near the cross! O Lamb of God,
    Bring its scenes before me;
    Help me walk from day to day
    With its shadow o’er me.

    Chorus
    In the cross, In the cross
    Be my glory ever
    ‘Til my raptured soul shall find
    Rest beyond the river.

    “BE STILL MY SOUL”
    Be still, my soul: the Lord is on thy side.
    Bear patiently the cross of grief or pain.
    Leave to thy God to order and provide;
    In every change, He faithful will remain.
    Be still, my soul: thy best, thy heavenly Friend
    Through thorny ways leads to a joyful end.

    Be still, my soul: thy God doth undertake
    To guide the future, as He has the past.
    Thy hope, thy confidence let nothing shake;
    All now mysterious shall be bright at last.
    Be still, my soul: the waves and winds still know
    His voice Who ruled them while He dwelt below.

    “TAKE MY LIFE AND LET IT BE CONSECRATED”
    Take my life and let it be consecrated, Lord, to Thee.
    Take my moments and my days; let them flow in endless praise,
    Let them flow in endless praise.

    Take my voice and let me sing always, only, for my King.
    Take my lips and let them be filled with messages from Thee,
    Filled with messages from Thee.

    Take my will and make it Thine; it shall be no longer mine.
    Take my heart it is thine own;it shall be thy royal throne,
    It shall be thy royal throne.

    Take my love; my Lord, I pour at Thy feet its treasure store.
    Take myself, and I will be ever, only, all for Thee,
    Ever, only, all for Thee.

    “NOW I BELONG TO JESUS”
    Joy floods my soul for Jesus has saved me,
    Freed me from sin that long had enslaved me
    His precious blood, He came to redeem,
    Now I belong to Him;

    Chorus
    Now I belong to Jesus,
    Jesus belongs to me,
    Not for the years of time alone,
    But for eternity.

    “I NEED THEE EVERY HOUR”
    I need Thee every hour, most gracious Lord;
    No tender voice like Thine can peace afford.

    Chorus
    I need Thee, O I need Thee,
    Every hour I need Thee.
    O bless me now, my Savior;
    I come to thee.

    I need thee every hour; Stay Thou near by;
    Temptations lose their power when Thou art nigh.

    I need thee every hour, in joy or pain;
    Come quickly and abide or life is vain.

    I need thee every hour; teach me Thy will;
    And Thy rich promises in me fulfill.

    “BLESSED ASSURANCE”
    Blessed assurance; Jesus is mine!
    Oh, what a foretaste of glory divine!
    Heir of salvation, purchase of God,
    born of his Spirit, washed in his blood.

    Chorus:
    This is my story, this is my song,
    Praising my Savior all the day long;
    This is my story, this is my song,
    Praising my Savior all the day long.

    Perfect submission, all is at rest,
    I in my Savior am happy and blest;
    Watching and waiting, looking above,
    Filled with his goodness, lost in His love.

Leave a Reply

