Semester #3 at SBTS

My third semester at Southern Seminary recently ended, so–as I did for semesters 1 and 2–here is a summary of the classes.

(1) On Tuesdays I attended “The History of Interpretation of the Gospels.”  This doctoral seminar took students through the main eras of church history and examined the ways prominent and obscure people handled the Four Gospels.  We had provocative and lively discussion.  This class was stimulating, informative, and edifying.

(2) The “New Testament Colloquium” was on Wednesdays.  Students and the New Testament faculty went through Brevard Childs’ Biblical Theology of the Old and New Testaments.

(3) Thursdays was dedicated to a class on “Romans,” one of my favorite books in the Bible.  Students chose a Romans commentary to read and a Romans book to review.  My choices were N. T. Wright’s commentary and Charles Cosgrove’s Elusive Israel, respectively.  I enjoyed the first one but disliked the second.

(4) On November 28 there was a one-day “Old Testament Colloquium.”  The theme was “Christ in the Old Testament,” and students were assigned books to read and then present to the class.  I chose Sidney Greidanus’ Preaching Christ from the Old Testament, which I loved and found very insightful.

I wrote this during the 2-month break between the fall and spring semesters.  It seems, though, that a break only means an early period to begin work on next semester’s assignments.  Here’s to buckling down and getting ahead!

3 thoughts on “Semester #3 at SBTS

  1. Dear Mitch,
    I know N.T. Wright is a name that generates energy from both poles of the theological battery. As a layman with only so many hours and waaay too many good books to read, I have made a conscious decision to steer clear of his work… the polemicist in me would slow down the reading to a painfully slow pace. I hear his name repeatedly connected with the NPP – the ‘new perspective on Paul’ – and sparkly ‘new’ theological views land at the very bottom of my reading list.

    I have read and benefitted from your book so I am curious to hear your opinion on the worth and helpfulness of Wright’s work – especially for non-academic laymen.

    Blessings to Your Family,
    Dave

    • Dave, thanks for your note. And I’m glad you found my book beneficial. Praise the Lord!

      N. T. Wright has much to offer in his works, though I don’t affirm every conclusion he makes, particularly regarding justification and imputation.

      However, most of what I’ve read by him has been helpful, stimulating, and edifying. I especially recommend his massive tome “The Resurrection of the Son of God.” I also appreciated his “Surprised By Hope.”

      Wright is a very gifted writer, thoughtful scholar, and has much to commend. You describe yourself as a non-academic layman, but that doesn’t mean you should avoid Wright. As with any writer, just read with discernment.

      May our great God guide us in truth as we study His word!

      Blessings,

      Mitch

  2. Pingback: Semester #4 at SBTS | Soli Deo Gloria

Leave a Reply

