7 Reflections After Preaching Through Romans

Last week I finished preaching through Paul’s letter to the Romans.  This verse-by-verse journey took me through 77 messages in order to thoroughly deal with each chapter. 

Here are 7 reflections after preaching through the letter:
(1) I am more astounded by the comprehensive sovereignty of God than I was before preaching Romans
(2) I am even more convinced of God’s predestination of sinners unto salvation than I was before preaching Romans
(3) I am more burdened for the hardened nation of Israel than I was before preaching Romans
(4) I am more grateful for Jesus’ role as our “propitiation” than I was before preaching Romans
(5) I am more burdened for evangelism and missions than I was before preaching Romans
(6) I am even more convinced of man’s total spiritual and moral inability than I was before preaching Romans
(7) I am more convinced of the necessity for every Christian to thoroughly understand Romans than I was before preaching Romans

Any Romans-lovers out there?  If any reader has devoted time to study, preach, or teach through part/all of Romans, what resolutions and convictions has the letter left you with?  If Romans is a favorite book of yours, why?  If not, why not? 

I want to recommend several “must-have” resources for studying and preaching through Romans, which sometimes come from varying perspectives, but are nonetheless insightful:
-Thomas Schreiner’s commentary
-Douglas Moo’s commentary
-Paul Jewett’s commentary
-Leon Morris’ commentary
-Ben Witherington’s commentary

May the Lord prosper the proclamation of His holy word, especially Paul’s masterful letter to the Romans!

Leave a Reply

