Needed Spiritual Lessons From Having a 6-Week Old Boy

Amidst the joys of having a child, there are frightening personal lessons I have experienced in the past six weeks.  The lessons are spiritual in nature and expose oversights and underestimations in my character. 

(1) I am even more selfish than I feared I was

(2) I can treat sleep like an idol

(3) I can easily neglect spending time with my wife for things I deem more important at the time

(4) I can become impatient and frustrated far too easily at times

(5) Continual personal sacrifice is easier said than done

Do these lessons resonate with anyone else?  What other spiritual weaknesses has the Spirit exposed in you through the venture of parenting? 

The answer to my weaknesses is constant yielding to the Spirit, in the prayerful hope that the fruit of the Spirit (Gal 5:22-23) will overcome my fleshly tendencies.  As a Christian father, I especially need kindness, gentleness, self-control, and patience…

4 thoughts on “Needed Spiritual Lessons From Having a 6-Week Old Boy

  1. Mitch,

    Welcome to parenthood. There will be times when sleep is no longer an idol, but a luxury. Impatience and frustration do not disappear as children get older–they find ever more ways to get on our nerves and push buttons, sometimes without even trying.

    I’m convinced that God gave us children to remind us of what we do in our relationship with him. They are a blessing… then they learn to talk, walk, etc.

    John Rothra

  2. I can relate! Kent Saugier, a wise, past church elder of ours, once related that he wondered if children aren’t given to parents for the children’s educaton, but parents are given children for the parents’ sanctification or something like that!

  3. John,

    Thanks for your note. Having a child does make me marvel more at God’s relationship with his people. He shows such loyalty and covenantal love…How great the manner of love that God has shown us that we should be called children of God (1 John 3)!

    Jena,

    Thanks for relaying Kent’s wisdom. Don’t you wish, though, that sanctification paused around midnight and resumed at 10am?

  4. I am not sure that I am ready for God to teach me these lessons yet. Thanks for the advance warning. Praying for you brother.

Leave a Reply

